Not So Still : Still Life in Western Art

Nirvana Romell

Still life is an ancient art form, enjoyed in Europe since the classical Greek and Roman times. As an individual genre, it came into its own in the late 16th century and has remained significant ever since. As a subject matter, it can be deceptively simple or imbued with complex layers of meanings. Artistically, it allows the artist more freedom, especially with compositional values. For example, the audience is less likely to take offence if the bowl of fruit or a vase of flowers are not arranged well, but a badly arranged group of apostles can cause a lot of problems for the artist.

This course of four Zoom lectures (50 minutes + Q & A) will look at the history of this popular genre in Western Art and its most popular topics: food, flowers and death.

8 April  Still life blossoms – a brief introduction of the genre; and the art of flower painting
15 April  All is vanity – vanitas and memento mori still life paintings
22 April  Food, glorious food… – from bowls of fruit to oysters and ale
29 April  Still life painting since the late 19th century – it still matters!

Day: Thursdays               Time: 5pm (UK time; which ‘translates’ to 18h00 (European), noon (EDT), 11am (CDT), 9am (PDT))
4 weeks, 8 to 29 April 2021

Online Learning Environment: Zoom
Live Zoom talks (approx. 50 minutes followed by Q & A)
Video recordings of each Zoom talk are made available and can be viewed whenever it suits you (for a week following the live event)

Price Minimum No. Maximum No.
£30 12 40

To book –
a) ONLINE booking and payment (credit / debit card) via this link: https://www.tickettailor.com/events/nirvanaromell/501412
b) Cheque payment – please email your booking form to nirvana@gmail.com and post your booking form and cheque payment to the following address:
Ms A. Cool (for N. Romell), 6 Alba Mews, Revelstoke Road, London SW18 5HY

Adult Education in Manchester and Cheshire